African-based news, lifestyle & popular culture platform that brings you stories and information concerning Africa and the African diaspora. Set up in 2010, Dynamic Africa is a rich content-driven creative space with a Pan-African outlook established as an expressive platform for African experiences, African culture and African stories.

Dynamic Africa is a diverse multimedia platform, which curates global ideas, memes, attitudes and other phenomena that shape popular culture, with both a local and global African perspective.

CONTACT: dynamicafricablog@gmail.com

all submissions via email only



Recent Tweets @DynamicAfrica
Posts tagged "sahara"

Images from Algerian photographer Bruno Hadjih's series Sahara.

The Community of Sahel-Saharan States (CEN-SAD; French: Communauté des Etats Sahélo-Sahariens; Arabic: تجمع دول الساحل والصحراء) aims to create a free trade area within Africa. There are questions with regard to whether its level of economic integration qualifies it under the Enabling clause.

CEN-SAD was established in February 1998 by six countries, but since then its membership has grown to 28. One of its main goals is to achieve economic unity through the implementation of the free movement of people and goods in order to make the area occupied by member states a free trade area.

At the international level, CEN-SAD gained observer status at the UN General Assembly in 2001 and concluded association and cooperation accords with the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) and with UN specialized agencies and institutions such as UNDP, WHO, UNESCO, FAO, and the Permanent Interstate Committee for drought control in the Sahel.

All CEN-SAD member countries are also participating in other African economic unions, that have the aim to create a common African Economic Community. The envisioned Free Trade Area of CEN-SAD would be hard to practically implement, because it is overlapping with the envisioned customs unions of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), ECCAS and COMESA and other trade blocs more advanced in their integration.

List of Members:

Founding members (1998)

  • Burkina Faso
  • Chad
  • Libya
  • Mali
  • Niger
  • Sudan

Subsequent members

  • 1999 -  Central African Republic
  • 1999 - Eritrea
  • 2000 - Djibouti
  • 2000 - Gambia
  • 2000 - Senegal
  • 2001 - Egypt
  • 2001 - Morocco
  • 2001 - Nigeria
  • 2001 - Somalia
  • 2001 - Tunisia
  • 2002 - Benin
  • 2002 - Togo
  • 2004 - Ivory Coast
  • 2004 - Guinea-Bissau
  • 2004 - Liberia
  • 2005 - Ghana
  • 2005 - Sierra Leone
  • 2007 - Comoros
  • 2007 - Guinea
  • 2008 - Kenya
  • 2008 - São Tomé and Príncipe

Former members

2008–2012 - Mauritania

EVENT: Saharan Frequencies at BAM (Mar 4—Mar 18, 2013)

Inspired by the aesthetic of the intrepid recordists at film and record label Sublime Frequencies, this series explores the sounds of North Africa as captured by two of the label’s key directors Hisham Mayet and Olivia Wyatt and their influences.

Presented in conjunction with Mic Check on BAM’s mainstage.


Amazigh (Berber) Man

Sahara, Douz Oasis, south Tunisia (by maksid)

(via algerianculture)

Once called the Pearl of the Sahara, Libya’s centuries-old heritage site, Ghadamis, has been devoid of tourists since the uprising against Muammar Gaddafi began last year.

Residents say the instability created after the downfall of the Gaddafi regime has dealt a heavy blow to the city’s tourist-reliant economy.

Al Jazeera’s Omar al-Saleh reports from Ghadamis.